Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots of their Photos?

Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots?

Being able to capture a screenshot is a great feature that almost all smartphones offer. But Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots? Taking a screenshot can be as simple as sliding your fingers vertically across the display of your phone. People regularly take screenshots of websites and pages they visit. What is so great about taking a screenshot is that you can easily revisit the saved page in the gallery without the use of your cellular data instead of revisiting the website again.

If you are an Instagram user, chances are you have taken multiple screenshots as Instagram lacks any feature of download. Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms where people regularly upload their pictures and memes. Sometimes the posts are just average with very little ability to grab your attention.

But once in a while, you might come across some great post that you want to revisit once again without having to search for it. This becomes a great opportunity to use your phone’s screenshot feature. It will take the screenshot of your phone immediately and save it in your phone’s gallery.

Instagram users often wonder Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots?. If you wonder it too, keep on reading this article to find out.

Why Take A Screenshot?

Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots

Screenshots can be taken for multiple purposes. Someone might have posted a funny meme and you want to see it again and show it to your friends as well. You might also share it with people on your page without letting people know from which page you took it.

You might also take a screenshot of someone’s story which you find funny. Sometimes, you might want to take screenshots of a funny conversation you had with your friend and want to share it with others or maybe revisit it. There are many reasons that may lead you to take a screenshot. Screenshots make it easy to revisit the pages that you might have to search for each time you want to reference them or use them. 

Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots?

 The right answer to the question is, it depends on what you screenshot. If you take a screenshot of someone’s posts, stories or a regular message, then no notification will be sent to the user. You can take a screenshot of someone’s profile without triggering any notification.

But if you take a screenshot of disappearing messages, then a screenshot will be sent to the user. It is a reasonable feature as disappearing messages are the messages that are supposed to increase the sense of privacy among the users and the privacy of each user should be respected.

Alternatives to Taking a Screenshot

Does Instagram Notify People of Screenshots

An alternative to screenshot is screen recording. You can create the recording of a page, post or a message and save it on your phone to revisit it later. Screen recording is basically a screenshot in the video format. Screen recording won’t trigger any notification alert even if your screen records someone’s disappearing messages. Although this would be ethically wrong as everyone’s privacy must be respected. Hopefully, in the future, Instagram brings an update in its features and notify when people screen record their messages.

Another alternative to screenshots is to bookmark the post. Instagram provides you with a feature that lets you bookmark the posts that you like without having to download them on your device. This way, you can revisit the post again without having any effect on your phone’s storage.  

 Another alternative to taking a screenshot is to download the post using a downloader. You can use apps like FastSave For Instagram, Instagram Video Downloader etc. and download the posts that you are interested in.

Benefits of Screenshot Notifications

Getting notified when a screenshot of your message is being taken is really helpful. If someone screenshots your message with a wrong intention, you will know who took the screenshot.  This will keep away people with creepy or bad intentions away from you. Although you will not get notified for screenshots that happen on your posts, stories and messages, you will get a notification on the disappearing messages that you had sent. Disappearing messages are supposed to maintain your privacy. Getting notified when someone takes a screenshot of these messages will keep you alert if they get used in the wrong way.