Instagram Direct: Are Instagram Messages Private?

Instagram Direct

Instagram is a great place to share your photos and videos with people. You often end up interacting and socialising with people on Instagram. Therefore, people often doubt about the privacy of the messages shared on social networking sites. To counter this issue and give a higher sense of privacy to people, Instagram has a special private messaging feature known as Instagram Direct. Read on to learn about Instagram Direct and find out answers to some of the most typical questions.

WHAT IS INSTAGRAM DIRECT?

Instagram Direct allows you to send your messages privately to an individual or to a group of people. According to Instagram, you can send these following things while using Instagram Direct:

  • Photos or videos taken by you or uploaded from your library
  • Posts you see in the feed
  • Vanishing Photos and Videos
  • Profile
  • SMS
  • Hashtags
  • place

You can manage your direct messages after you click on the mailbox icon which is located in the top right corner. You can also check out your sent and received messages by clicking on this mailbox icon.

The benefit of using Instagram Direct is that the messages that you send using this feature, then only the intended people will be able to see it. You can also send a post as a message from your account to people who follow you. No one else will be able to see your post, making it more secure.

HOW TO SHARE A PROFILE AS A MESSAGE USING INSTAGRAM DIRECT?

Instagram Direct

While scrolling your Instagram feed, you may come across a profile that interests you. You may want to share that profile with your friends or followers. In such a case, you can also share profiles as a message using Instagram direct. When you do this, a preview of that profile is shown. The preview makes it easy for the receiver of your message to decide if he is interested in the profile or not.

You will have to follow the following steps if you want to share a profile as a message to someone.

STEP 1

The first step you have to take is to go to a profile that you want to send us a message.

STEP 2

The next step is to tap on the three dots that you see on the right side of the profile. You will then see the option to share the profile. Tap on the option.

STEP 3

You can send the profile to a maximum of 32 people at a time. Select the people you want to send the profile to. Once you have selected the people, all you have to do is click on the send option. The profile will be shared as a message to the intended people.

HOW TO CREATE A GROUP CHAT IN INSTAGRAM DIRECT?

People create and enter groups to tag along in conversations that are concerned with them. This is because it gets tiring to send messages individually. There is a great feature in Instagram Direct to create groups and have a converse between the members in the group.

If you too want to create a group and chat on it using Instagram Direct, you will have to first click on the message icon. This icon is located on the right-hand side at the top of your feed. You will then have to select two or more people that you want to create the group with. Now create your message or just paste it, whether it is a picture or a video, and share it with the group by clicking on the send button. Your message will then be delivered to these selected folks with whom you have formed the group. People who are not in this group will not be able to see what you share in this group.

Once you have created a group on Instagram Direct, you might also want to give a name to it as well. You may give your group any name you would like. Additionally, giving a proper name to the group makes it more interesting. If you want to give a name to your group, click on the group that you want to rename and then click on the name of the group twice to give it a name. Tap on done once you are finished with giving a name to your group.

HOW TO LEAVE A GROUP CHAT IN INSTAGRAM DIRECT?

You might also want to leave a group for some particular reason. Maybe it is because of spamming or maybe because you are not interested in the conversations that take place in the group. Whatever your reason to leave the group is, it is pretty easy to leave the group. You will not receive any further messages from the group again until you rejoin it. Follow these simple steps to leave it.

STEP 1

Tap on the message icon on the right-hand side at the top of your feed.

STEP 2

Open the group that you want to leave. Then tap on the name of the group.

STEP 3

Then click on leave chat option and then click on the leave option to confirm leaving the group.

HOW TO ADD PEOPLE TO GROUP CONVERSATIONS ?

You can also add more people to the Instagram Direct group any time you want. To add more people in the group, then tap on the message icon which is located at the right-hand side on top of your Insta feed. You should then tap on the group that you want to add more people to. Then tap on the name of the group. You will then have to tap on add people option. Then search the people you want to add in the group. Select the people you want to add and then tap on add option. The people you have selected will be added to the group and become a part of the group conversations.